What you need to know about the glue of disability online movements & advocacy: unity

Rosemary Richings
5 min readOct 3, 2020

I am not a disability studies PHD, nor am I a medical professional. So there are moments where I feel like an imposter when I talk about disability-related issues. Although there is something extremely valuable I bring to the conversation: lived experience.

As I mentioned before, I’m a person who lives with Dyspraxia. For such a long time, I also lived with a severe case of Anemia. The Anemia made me physically weak and prone to fainting every time I had my period. It started when I was 13-years-old and ended when I was 18-years old. I knew it had gotten really bad when I visited a nurse at my local community health centre. After noticing that I was really pale and the haemoglobin levels in my bloodstream were dangerously low, they told me to go to the hospital.

Several blood transfusions and tests later, an OB/ GYN prescribed the birth control pill and the Anemia has been non-existent ever since. I also have an inner circle where a majority are either neurodiverse or have some sort of mental health condition.

Not to mention, I’m married to someone with type one diabetes who was one of the founding trustees of the #insulin4all movement. I watched the movement grow and felt like I learned a lot from both the right and wrong choices of everyone…

--

--

Rosemary Richings

Writer, editor, author, neurodiversity advocate with a lived experience, dyspraxic POV