Why we need to stop shaming remote workers and people with disabilities for taking time off

Rosemary Richings
5 min readDec 29, 2020

The last time I was a guest on a podcast, I was a first for that show in two different ways:

  • I was the first remote worker (guest)
  • And the first formally diagnosed Dyspraxic to come on the show and talk about their Dyspraxia.

The host also happened to have a disability themselves, something that doesn’t happen often when I make guest appearances on podcasts. That alone was freeing. I didn’t have to mask my neurodiversity to keep up with someone else’s idea of “normal”.

So I was as transparent as I possibly could be, even when discussing heavy topics, like stigma and bullying, for example.

Although what I remember the most about that conversation is the first ten minutes.

The host said:

“How are you?”

Then I surprised even myself with my response:

“I’m good thanks. Just woke up from a nap, so I feel great! “

He laughed, I laughed, and we had a very relatable conversation about our preferences around napping. Turns out he’s not a fan of napping during the day…

--

--

Rosemary Richings

Writer, editor, author, neurodiversity advocate with a lived experience, dyspraxic POV